Fury – Best War Film in Years

Fury Poster“It will end, soon. But before it does, a lot more people got to die.”

The first film I saw at the cinema was Saving Private Ryan. I was just a kid, and I was impressed with the size of the screen and how loud the sound was. During the first 30 minutes I was amazed, as the allied troops landed on Omaha beach , I could feel the sound of the explosions reverberating on my chest, and the bullets ricocheting all around me. Not bad for a first time cinema experience. After that I started to pay close attention to war films, hoping to find one that could offer a similar experience. Long years passed…

Last month I found myself in a parking lot of a shopping center. I hate shopping centers, so much I will probably write a whole article about it. Sitting there in my car I thought “Go in, do what you have to do, and get out, nice and easy”. So I went in, I did what I had to do, and when I was rushing my way out I came across the entrance to the cinema. The poster showed an image of a soldier leaning on a tank barrel, beneath a dark sky. His face shone sadness, yet I found the whole picture rather peaceful, except for the word written on the barrel: “Fury”.

I really wanted to get out of there. I looked at the exit, I looked at the poster, and I thought “Oh, what the hell”. I approached the young lady at the ticket office:
– Hello, I would like a ticket for the film Fury, please.
– Yes sir, where would you like to sit?
– Where do you recommend?
– Well, I can get you a sit right at the center, is that good for you sir?
– Is there anyone eating popcorn at the center?
– No sir.
– Then it’s good for me, one ticket at the center, please.
– Certainly, would you like popcorn with that?” she asked smiling.
It turned out there was no one else to watch the film except me and an half-sleeping guy at the back. I pretty much had the room for myself, no common disturbances. I sat right at the center, and as the film started to roll I thought “This is going to be good”.

The film was directed by David Ayer, it takes place during the last days of World War II, and it follows an American crew of a Sherman tank. As the allies make their way towards Berlin, this five men end up finding themselves standing against incredible odds. The film is well produced, and the main actors perform excellently, specially Shia LaBeouf and Jon Bernthal. Their characters are not the typical American heroes we are used to see in the big screens, their hearts and minds have been hardened by the cruelty of the conflict, and that reflects on their actions throughout the story. The film is full of graphic violence, the picture has a somewhat darkened color, and the soundtrack is depressing and frightening. This film pulls no punches while showing the horrors of war.

The sound was loud has hell, I could swear I felt my sit vibrate every time the tanks went full gas, the sound of the blasting shells in my chest, and the ricochets reverberating on my ears. I loved every single second. Is Fury better than the old Spielberg’s classic? No, but is the only war film that ever got close.

Fury, underrated and highly recommended.

Fury

One thought on “Fury – Best War Film in Years

  1. Pingback: Why I Hate Shopping Centers – Reason 1 | Third Left Pub

Leave a Reply

